Pavlov puppies

English and Italian language versions

I don’t know if it happens the same to you – I have a suspect though – but I am struggling to keep the promises I do to myself. Maybe it’s because I know I am a very good self-forgiver, maybe I sense that the punishment will be nothing more than a few empty complaints, maybe it’s because I feel no reverence towards myself – I don’t think that’s actually a flaw -, maybe it’s because often I don’t know what I am really asking myself.

I just can’t. So could be a good solution to stop. I could stop making promises to myself. I am not going to do something I have promised myself just because I have to keep my promise. I know it. I have to find a reward, the right cash back, then I’ll do it. I know I am ready to do a lot of silly things for the right reward. Just like a silly dog. A trick for a treat. Great glob, my salivary gland it’s working already.

Non so se a voi accade la stessa cosa – ho come un sospetto però -ma non riesco a mantenere le promesse che faccio a me stessa. Forse è perché so di essere molto brava a perdonarmi, forse perché sento che la punizione non sarà nulla più di qualche vuoto lamento, forse perché non ho alcun senso di reverenza per me stessa – effettivamente non lo considero un difetto – forse accade perché spesso non mi rendo conto di cosa mi sto realmente chiedendo a me stessa.

Semplicemente, non posso. Così potrebbe essere una buona idea, smettere di farmi promesse. Non mi metterò a fare qualcosa che mi sono promessa di fare solo perché devo mantenere una promessa. Lo so. Devo trovare la giusta ricompensa, il giusto tornaconto, allora agirò. Mi sento già pronta a fare un mucchio di cose sciocche per la giusta ricompensa. Proprio come un cane sciocco. Un trucco per un premio. Santa polenta, sto già salivando.

Leave a Reply

