To keep a promise

Somewhere, sometimes along the life of this blog I promised myself: this will be the last complaining post I will ever write. Please, don’t tell me that you too did many times that promise to yourself without keeping it. Did you? Oh fallacious human being, I love you!

Ok, I did that promise. I broke it. Now I want to keep it. From where I start? You now, if you didn’t succeed at something the first time you tried, you can always try a second time, a third time, a fourth time. Ok, you can question if the thing is worth another try at all, but you can’t really surrender at the first debacle or the second, or even the third is the thing you were trying to do does really matter to you. Does it matter to you? There’s no need that it matter to anyone else, but surely it had to matter to you.

So, It did – better – It does matter to me. You know, I find myself really annoying when I complain. To be truly honest, I find listening to other people complains even more annoying. You too? Oh, we have so much in common, my three faithful readers.

But I am straying from the good path… complaining. So, where do I start? Where I look for the inspiration to write positive posts? Maybe the right thing to do is the most dull and obvious. The one thing every self-help manual or easy reading essay about the science of happiness suggests is to compile a list of things that you are grateful for.

Is it difficult to do? I don’t think it is.

It makes me feel silly? A little, but I don’t have the time to listen to me whine. No more.

So… let’s start! First, I am stealing some major suggestion from Action for Happiness

I resume the website advises:

  1. write every night, before you go to bed, at least 3 things you are grateful for
  2. note them down (so, do not write the lists on spare paper, use at least a small notebook)
  3. think about “why” you are grateful for those things
  4. look back at what you have written the weeks before
  5. keep it up some other weeks and see if you still need to do it every day or if you can move to do it every other day or once in a week

I promise, my three faithful readers, that I will not share these lists with you every single night. You don’t have the time (and the desire) to listen to me hype. Maybe I might do it once in a week and then I might share with you the results of this exercise. What do you think? Can you stand it?

3 thing I am grateful for today:

  1. the muscles I exercised on Monday are soaring –> this makes me happy because they are not soaring too much and because they sore even if the exercise was an easy workout with the balance board. I am happy that the board is being useful in these days of bad weather.
  2. I posted the first board of the cookie jar project –> finally I finished one illustration! It could be better, but it’s only the first! 🙂
  3. this first post –> ok, maybe this one it’s a little lazy. But I am happy that I completed something just before the deadline I had fixed for it. It makes me feel reliable. I can start to count on myself again.

These are the 3 things I am grateful for, what are you grateful for?

3 thoughts on “To keep a promise

Leave a Reply

