28 days of gratitude

Hello, everyone!

As any Wednesday, today is time to check and celebrate the improvements achieved so far. I’d like to share my humble results to help you see that you don’t need to take big chances or to turn your life upside down to make things better, to be more satisfied with yourself. Today I celebrate:

  • my 28th day of my gratitude list written in ink,
  • my 5th week of a Spartan-like morning routine (wake at 06.00 am, meditation, exercise, cold shower, breakfast, do the bed, gratitude list, work)
  • the 20th day since I started meditating

What are the results? Let’s list them by practice.

  • First, the gratitude list.

Since I purchased a new diary and started to write my daily lists on its colourful pages, my intimacy with the practice has increased. As a cascade effect, this new sense of intimacy increased my joy listing my happy moments, as well as my overall happiness. I don’t know if the cause is the simple habit of taking notice that a good thing is happening to me or if the exercise is helping me starting new positive habits, which increase my overall happiness. Maybe it’s both. Maybe the cause is a different one. I don’t really care. I think that when you are troubled, you want to investigate one by one the reasons why, but when you are happy, you just don’t care. You are too busy experiencing positive feelings.

  • Second, what I call the Spartan-like morning routine.

I can’t do well without it. When I follow my morning routine, it helps me achieving that day goal, when I don’t, well, I miss the target. It’s something like that British Army advertising says: “If you can do this, you can do that. And if you can do that, you can…”. Achieving a mini goal – like don’t push the snooze button on the phone screen when the alarm goes off – makes me feel that I can face the next one. Achieving the next one, helps me pass to the other one and so on. It’s another positive cascade effect.

  • Guided meditation

I didn’t list it because meditation is not a third, a second or even a first practice. Meditation is not a tumble in a cascade effect, but it might well be the source. If meditation was an element in the painting of your being, of your present moment, it wouldn’t be a figure or a colour on the canvas. Meditation would be the cut in a Lucio Fontana’s work. Meditation is opening for me a door on another space-time. It’s like a slow process of letting go things that have stuck me for so long. It is like going deeper inside your outside. Sorry, I can’t explain it better with words. You really should try it. You will sense a deep lightness. I’ve tried two apps:

They are both nice, easy to start with and their beginner’s paths are free.

So guys, thank you for your time, have a nice day and give meditation a try! ^_^

One thought on “28 days of gratitude

Leave a Reply

