When it’s enough and when it’s not

Hi to all of you, old and new friends! I am writing at the beginning of the week, seduced by the power of Monday’s propositions, after a weekend spent among the mental fogginess induced by PMS, sinusitis, a heavy migraine and the drugs to cure them all.

Saturday night I was lazily speaking to my husband about the dissatisfaction with my daily fitness routine when I had a sudden revelation: enough!. My fitness routine is just enough.

The results I achieved with my body are just enough to me. It’s stupid and it’s pointless to keep on fighting. I don’t want to stop exercising and I am still going to reconsider and improve my fitness routine from time to time, but I need to end the war with my body. This war has been going on since I was a little girl. It started with hate and refusal (thanks to bullying), it continued through prize and punishments (at the doors of bulimia), it has evolved in my not always healthy eating and exercising routine. It has to stop.

I am a 39 years old woman with few grey hair and a lot more of brown. I am a little taller than one metre and a half and I weigh around 50 kilogrammes. I have an hourglass shaped body with a BMI around 20.60 and almost perfect measurements: 87-64-93. It’s enough.

I am fine with what I have. I want to enjoy my body. Town centre shops, I am coming!

Since I decide that my efforts to be fit and have a body I could find admirable are enough, I can save more mental space for what it’s not. On the same night of chat with my husband, I realised that my commitment to this blog and even more to my creative space, The Charming Cookie Jar, is not enough. I must write more. I must post more. I must illustrate more. I have to progress with my novella at a faster pace. It’s no use struggling to have more followers on empty blogs. If what I really want to do is write, then I have to write more. What I was doing it’s not enough.

And you? What do you think it’s enough? Are you enduring a long pointless battle with some aspect of your body or yourself that you can’t accept? Are you holding back from the real battle you feel you should fight? In the meanwhile, thank you for your precious time and have a terrific Monday!

5 thoughts on “When it’s enough and when it’s not

  1. Douglas Sousa says:

    I really enjoy reading you blog and following you on Instagram. I was wondering if you book comes in English so I may get a chance to read it? Doug Sousa (Dogdaddy)

    • Nina Trema says:

      Hello, Doug! 🙂 I am so happy to see you here 😀 I love your Instagram too. Your pics makes me dream of North America and its large green spaces 🙂
      Unfortunately, I published my book with a very small publisher, which cannot provide an English translation, but I tell you that I want to find a solution for this. I want my book to be translated into English as much as you and maybe just a little bit more than you 😉 Thanks for passing by and have a terrific week! 🙂

  2. Monika says:

    We have very similar body measurements and I, too, almost drifted into bulimia a couple of years ago. I neglected my body the last couple of months because of everything that was going on, but now, my health is my priority number one.

    And health of course doesn’t only include a balanced diet and some exercise but also do what we love to do. I’m looking forward to reading more of you and hope you’ll make the progress you wish 🙂

    Have a beautiful week! ❤

    • Nina Trema says:

      Hi, Monika and… congratulations! I read the big news on your blog. You’re very talented and passionate in your work. I knew you would have made it. 🙂
      Back on topic, sorry to hear about the difficulties of the last months and more about your past flirt with bulimia. Unfortunately, eating disorders and their prodrome seem to be a commonality in the life of a lot of women (and increasingly of a lot of men as well). Happy to know that now you are free to have more healthy and pleasant days 🙂 Thanks for your support! Have a beautiful week you too! :*

      • Monika says:

        Thank you, Nina, also for your encouraging words! 🙂
        Yeah, unfortunately there are far too many cases of eating disorders nowadays, I feel so helpless when I think of all these young girls (and boys?) hating themselves because of something so.. trivial?
        Take care! x (and I didn’t forget your long comment on bullying!)

Leave a Reply

