Universe is greater

I don’t think I ever told you about my love for Steven Universe, by Rebecca Sugar. I’ve never seen a show so funny and at the same time so deep. The characters, especially, are marvellous. They have virtues, flaws, passions, aversions. They develop and change in front of your eyes, and some of them have heavy background stories, like Lapis, who has been imprisoned for a long time, or Pearl, whose unrequited love for Rose still hurts her.

Pearl is the one who struggles to change. Pearl is the one who is attached to her past. Sometimes you think she has overcome it – her unrequited love for Rose Quartz, her losing her for good when she gave birth to Steven – and then, it comes one episode as Mr Greg and you know that is all still there. And you understand her. And you suffer with her. And in your mind, her song goes on and on because – even if you are not a semi-immortal alien made of crystal who lost the love of her life – more than sometimes you find yourself stuck by a pain you can’t let go.

So, I want to change, I want to move along the path to illumination and my mind sings:

It’s over, isn’t it? Isn’t it?
Isn’t it over?
It’s over, isn’t it? Isn’t it?
Isn’t it over?

I don’t think it’s a negative thing. At least, I am addressing a problem and sometimes, while I let it play in my mind I feel like someone stronger than me is singing the words. Like if it was a version of me able to overcome all this. Because the universe is greater than my quarries. It is greater of what my conscious self calls “me”. And I am part of it.

For your pleasure, I link here the official video of the song. Trust me, it’s really good. In the meanwhile, thank you for your precious time.

Leave a Reply

