Waves of time: born on Monday

I love owls, in particular, the little owl, which in Italy we call Civetta and is very common in all the peninsula. Instead, the tawny owl you see in the picture that accompanies this post comes from a beautiful shawl my husband donated me earlier this year. If I point out something I like, it is rather common that my husband surprises me buying that thing over the nex days. You could say that I am lucky, but I prefer to say that my husband and I work hard. You see, our relationship dates from more than thirteen years ago. We started as friends, very good friends. Then we tried dating, and it didn’t work out. Years passed, and slowly our friendship flourished again. Then, he swallowed a frog and asked me to consider him as a possible boyfriend one more time. I did it. Time passed, we worked more and now we are living together in England, married and loving each other. This is not luck. This is work.

I am writing this, for two reasons. The first one is to encourage you to give nothing for granted, especially in love matters. The second reason is to underline the ethic of a crazy person born on a Monday as I am. I don’t believe in miracles. I believe in work. I believe in prayers in the way that I believe a positive attitude can make a difference. I believe in kindness, and I believe in people. But most of the times, I try to do things on my own. I am the kind of person who loves how-to books, maps and plans.

I am carrying this luggage with me, as the gate of forties approaches, but I hope I will be able to let go of some old boxes along the way. If you want to build something anew, you can’t use all the old stones. Tomorrow will be my fortieth birthday, and I must say, I am thrilled about the challenges ahead, and I am also frightened. But to be scared is to be alive and I want to be alive and kicking till my last breath. In the meanwhile, kind reader, thank you for your precious time.

 

7 thoughts on “Waves of time: born on Monday

  1. Monika says:

    I love the way you see life! I also don’t take anything for granted either. While I think I’m incredibly lucky to have found (what feels like, I know I might be too young to judge that) the love of my life so early, I’m also aware of the fact that it needs lots of work to maintain the relationship the way it is.

    I hope you had a lovely last day in your thirties!! 🙂 take care ❤

    • Nina Trema says:

      Thank you Monika, you are sweet and I wish for you and your partner to always find your way through the obstacles of life. I’ll see you tomorrow from the Other Side (wow, it looks so dramatic 😉 )

Leave a Reply

